24hr Emergency Assistance – Please call +44 (0)1224 261840 Client Login
Norwegian authorities lift travel advice against nine countries, introduce new entry restrictions

Norwegian authorities lift travel advice against nine countries, introduce new entry restrictions

The Norwegian authorities announced that starting from Monday, July 19, travel advice against Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Canada, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar, and Serbia will stop applying.  

According to the press release issued by the country's government, this relaxation in restriction followed the National Institute of Public Health assessment, according to which these countries meet the criteria for milder entry restrictions.  

However, the travel advice against the nine countries does not release travelers from quarantine restrictions, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.  

Authorities in Oslo also announced changes in entry restrictions and quarantine hotels which will affect countries like Belgium, France, the Faroe Islands, Greece, and Malta.  

Ireland and Monaco will remain in the orange category for another two weeks.  

Countries like Cyprus and the United Kingdom, which are moving from dark red to red countries, will also receive requirements for quarantine hotels.  

According to Norway's government statement, Andorra, Portugal, and Spain are placed in the red category, with the Netherlands being added from the orange category. Like states included in the orange list, travelers from the red list must also undergo quarantine and testing before and after their arrival.  

On the other hand, Latvia will be moved to the green list, which currently includes other countries, such as Bulgaria, Estonia, Greenland, Iceland, Italy, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, the Vatican City, and Austria.  

Besides categorizing the EU countries, Norway has introduced the color coded system to regions as well, having Sweden regions categorized as green.  

The "purple countries," which, according to NIPH, have a low infection rate, are the third countries such as Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia, and Herzegovina, Canada, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, and Qatar.  

Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Japan, Northern Macedonia, Serbia, South Korea, Singapore, and Taiwan remain on the purple list, as the previous list published by NIPH indicated.


  • No categories associated with this article.

News Tags

  • No tags associated with this article.